[For Members] News from JNS

Announcement of 2019 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Awardees

October 28, 2019

The Call for Application of 2019 JNS-SfN Exchange Travel Award, which originated in Year 2012, was open from February 6 to April 24 this year. We received a total of 16 applications from a variety of academic and research institutions. The selection process was taken in charge by the International Collaboration Affairs Committee of the JNS (A full member list is indicated below).

We here extend our heartfelt congratulations to the following 5 awardees of the Year 2019:

  • Kent Imaizumi (Keio University School of Medicine)
  • Kengo Saito (Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Kanazawa University)
  • Hideyuki Nakashima (Graduate School of Medical Science, Kyushu University)
  • Kaori Sato (Department of Life Science and Medical Bioscience, Waseda University, Center for Brain Science, RIKEN")
  • Takeshi Sawada (Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo)

As ambassadors of the JNS, the awardees attended the International Fellows Orientation Session and International Fellows Poster Session on the first day of the SfN’s Annual Meeting.

The criteria for selection were scientific excellence, as evaluated based on the submitted abstract, essay letter, and the candidates’ CV, and the committee members did not participate in the evaluation of a candidate with a conflict of interest. Although this Award was initiated to support young scientists suffering from the outcome of the Great East Japan Earthquake in 2011, it is now recognized as an Award of prestige for young JNS researchers, as demonstrated by the number of outstanding applications we receive. Therefore, in recent years, we decided to award the scientifically very best applications.

Please contact the JNS office (office@jnss.org) for any feedback or comments about this Award.

The International Collaboration Affairs Committee of the JNS,
Chair   Haruhiko Bito
Members Yukiko Goda

Kei Igarashi
Hiroyuki Kamiguchi
Kinichi Nakashima
Yasushi Okamura
Ken-ichiro Tsutsui
Yumiko Yoshimura