[Public Outreach] News from JNS

Announcement of FENS Forum 2024 Travel Award Awardees

The Calls for Application of 2024 FENS Forum 2024 Travel Award were closed on January 15, 2024. A total of 23 outstanding applications were received. The selections were made through a stringent evaluation process by the Committee of International Affairs of the JNS (Member list is indicated below).
We congratulate the following 6 awardees of FENS Forum 2024 Travel Award:
Haruya Yagishita
Department of Pharmacology, Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Tohoku University
Mayumi Watanabe
RIKEN Center for Brain Science
Neural Circuitry of Learning and Memory
Cristina Risueño Segovia
RIKEN Center for Brain Science
Brain Functional Dynamics Collaboration Laboratory
Ayjan Urazbayeva
The Graduate University for Advanced Studies (SOKENDAI), National Institute of Genetics
Sho Yamaguchi
Department of Cellular Pharmacology, Graduate School of Medicine, Hokkaido University
Ayako Imamura
Ph.D. Program in Humanics, University of Tsukuba
In the evaluation process, the submitted abstract and motivation letter were considered along with past scientific achievements of the applicants, as all awardees will be representing JNS at the FENS Forum 2024. A final decision was made according to the scores based on secret votes by each of the committee members that took into account conflicts of interest. In the event of a tie or a very close tie, the diversity of research fields, affiliations and gender were also considered. If you have any opinions or comments on this award, please contact the JNS office (office@jnss.org).
April 1, 2024
The International Collaboration Affairs Committee of the JNS,
Chair Yukiko Goda
Members Haruhiko Bito
Hajime Hirase
Joshua P. Johansen
Yasushi Okamura
Naoya Takahashi
Keiko Tanaka-Yamamoto
Yoko Yazaki-Sugiyama