[Academic Events] Events in Japan


OKINAWA/OIST COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE COURSE 2019 Methods, Neurons, Networks and Behaviors June 24 to July 11, 2019 Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan https://groups.oist.jp/ocnc

The aim of the Okinawa/OIST Computational Neuroscience Course is to provide opportunities for young researchers with theoretical backgrounds to learn the latest advances in neuroscience, and for those with experimental backgrounds to have hands-on experience in computational modeling.

We invite graduate students and postgraduate researchers to participate in the course, held from June 24th through July 11th, 2019 at an oceanfront seminar house of the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University. Applications are through the course web page (https://groups.oist.jp/ocnc) only; January 1 - February 2, 2019. Applicants will receive confirmation of acceptance in March.

Like in preceding years, the 16th OCNC will be a comprehensive three-week course covering single neurons, networks, and behaviors with ample time for student projects. The first week will focus exclusively on methods with hands-on tutorials during the afternoons, while the second and third weeks will have lectures by international experts. The course has a strong hands-on component based on student proposed modeling or data analysis projects, which are further refined with the help of a dedicated tutor. Applicants are required to propose their project at the time of application.

There is no tuition fee. The sponsor will provide lodging and meals during the course and provides partial travel support. We hope that this course will be a good opportunity for theoretical and experimental neuroscientists to meet each other and to explore the attractive nature and culture of Okinawa, the southernmost island prefecture of Japan.

Invited faculty:
• Claudia Clopath (Imperial College, UK)
• Erik De Schutter (OIST)
• Kenji Doya (OIST)
• Tomoki Fukai (OIST)
• Wenbiao Gan (New York University, USA)
• Geoff Goodhill (University of Queensland, Australia)
• Jun Izawa (Tsukuba University, Japan)
• Mike Hausser (University College London, UK)
• Bernd Kuhn (OIST)
• Eve Marder (Brandeis University, USA)
• Peggy Series (University of Edinburgh, UK)
• Greg Stephens (OIST)
• Sebastian Seung (Princeton University, USA)
• Taro Toyoizumi (RIKEN BSI, Japan)
• Yoko Yazaki-Sugiyama (OIST)
• Yi Zeng (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)